Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Scary Movie V (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)


Artists: various
Lakeshore Records
RRP: £13.99
Available 23 April 2013

The latest installment of the Scary Movie franchise once again parodies the horror genre. The original soundtrack album from Lakeshore Records features songs by Hyper Crush, Latief Scott, Bellringer, Blind Truth featuring Georgia Harris, and Tarik NuClothes...

The original motion picture soundtrack to Scary Movie V features music from numerous genres including pop, dance, easy listening, rock, opera and classical.

I don't usually enjoy albums like this - which try to appease everyone's musical tastes - but for some reason I really got hooked on this. I think it's the fact that there's nothing overtly offensive here. Even if you hate opera, the operatic track ('Flower Duet' from Lakme) is mainstream enough to appeal to you. And that's something that can be said about all the songs on this album.

'Way out Willie' opens with a segment that is almost note-for-note 'Yakety Sax' (better known to most as the theme tune to The Benny Hill Show). Pete Peterkin's 'Somewhere In This World' is also an interesting homage to Louis Armstrong. Peterkin was a singer impresionest finalist on America's Got Talent, and if you didn't know better, you could really believe that it's an original Armstrong song.

While it's far from an essential purchase, this could be your chill-out summer album of 2013.

Track listing:

01 - 'Werk Me' - Hyper Crush
02 - 'Way Out Willie' - Dug
03 - 'I Want Her' - Blind Truth featuring Georgia Harris
04 - 'How You Girlz Git Down' - Latief Scott
05 - 'Everybody Feel It' - Hit Feeling Productions
06 - 'Electricity' - John Costello
07 - 'Lakme - Flower Duet' - Apollo Symphony Orchestra
08 - 'Thunder' - The League
09 - 'Pimp Cup' - Tarik NuClothes
10 - 'Right There' - Bellringer
11 - 'Livin’ Loud' - D.J. FiFi
12 - 'Swan Lake (Waltz Of Flowers)' - Yuri Botnari (Conducting Moscow Philharmonic)
13 - 'Somewhere In This World' - Pete Peterkin
14 - 'Ready For War' - MicLordz & Sauce Funky


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

We compare prices online so you get the cheapest deal
Click on the logo of the desired store below to purchase this item.

£7.99 (iTunes GB)
MP3 album

All prices correct at time of going to press.