Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Defiance (Original Television Soundtrack)


Composer: Bear McCreary
Artists: Brendan McCreary, Raya Yarbrough, and Young Beautiful in a Hurry
Label: Sparks & Shadows
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 21 June 2013

Defiance (Original Television Soundtrack) contains 22 tracks (1 hr, 16 min, 13 sec) of original score, original songs and cover songs as heard in the first season of Defiance.

I have to admit that when I first listened to this album I hadn't seen any episodes of Defiance, and wasn't overly struck on the score. A lot of Bear McCreary's music seemed to be reworked piece that appear on the flawless Defiance game soundtrack. Equally, the vocal tracks didn't do a lot for me - some of them containing alien vocals that took me back to Return of the Jedi. However, as luck would have it, the PR company that is helping to promote the show's release on Blu-ray and DVD sent us the first seven episodes to watch before we were due to interview one of the show's stars, Stephanie Leonidas - who plays Irisa.

Almost instantly everything slotted into place and almost all of the vocal tracks made more sense when given the proper context. I suppose it's a no-brainer; you're not going to pick up this album if you haven't seen the TV series, so you'll pretty much know what to expect. However, if you want to complement this, then also pick up the game score - which is far superior.

Track listing:

01 - 'Defiance Main Title'
02 - 'The Ritual of Perpetual Motion' - (feat. Raya Yarbrough
03 - 'Flirting with Disaster' - Young Beautiful in a Hurry
04 - 'Before the Votans'
05 - 'Welcome to Defiance'
06 - 'Terraform My Heart' - feat. Brendan McCreary
07 - 'Baby Blue' - Young Beautiful in a Hurry
08 - 'Castithan Bath'
09 - 'Ooh Child' - Raya Yarbrough
10 - 'Lost to the River' - feat. Brendan McCreary
11 - 'Outside Over There' - Young Beautiful in a Hurry
12 - 'Worth Dying For'
13 - 'Concerto for Insects'
14 - 'Time After Time' - feat. Raya Yarbrough
15 - 'Besásh' - feat. Raya Yarbrough and Brendan McCreary
16 - 'Kalagyi Anaila Kaziri'
17 - 'Courage Under Fire' - Young Beautiful in a Hurry
18 - 'Battle of the Volge'
19 - 'Nolan and Irisa Reunite'
20 - 'Castithan Wedding Song' - feat. Raya Yarbrough
21 - 'Lawkeeper'
22 - 'Gone Again' - feat. Brendan McCreary)


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

MP3 album
iTunes GB
MP3 album
MP3 album