Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Kick-Ass 2 (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)


Artists: various
Label: Sony Classical
RRP: £13.99

8 888374 40226
Release Date: 20 August 2013

Kick-Ass, Hit Girl and Red Mist return for the follow-up to 2010’s irreverent global hit: Kick-Ass 2. After Kick-Ass’ do-it-yourself vigilante bravery inspires a new wave of self-made masked crusaders, led by the badass Colonel Stars and Stripes, our hero joins them on patrol. When these amateur superheroes are hunted down by Red Mist - reborn as the super-villain The Motherf%&*^r - only the blade-wielding Hit Girl can prevent their annihilation...

The soundtrack for Kick-Ass 2 is exactly what you'd expect from a various artists album for a blockbuster movie. As a result it's very much an album of the now and will date very quickly. This is a collection that you'll play to death over the remainder of the summer and into autumn, and then probably never listen to again.

It's a strange mix of tracks which guarantees that everyone will find at least a couple of songs that they like, but also means that there will be more than a handful they don't enjoy. It runs through just about every music genre from rock, to dance, to indie, to rap/hip-hop.

It's got everything from the rock reworking of the Russian classic folk song 'Korobeiniki' (probably most famous to most thanks to Nintendo employing it in its '90s classic Tetris game for the Game Boy) to the "shock the adults" lyrics of 'Pussy Drop'. There's the Lilly Allen-esque 'No Strings' by Chlöe Howl and the Owl City sounding 'Carry You' by Union J.

The album contains 14 tracks and has a running time of 41 min, 36 sec.

Track listing:

01 - 'Yeah Yeah' - James Flannigan)
02 - 'Nobody Move' - Hanni El Khatib
03 - 'Carry You' - Union J
04 - 'No Strings' - Chloe Howl
05 - 'Pussy Drop' - Lemon
06 - 'Dance' - Danko Jones
07 - 'A Minha Menina' - The Bees
08 - 'Bust Out Brigade' - The Go! Team
09 - 'When The Saints Go Marching In' - St. Snot
10 - 'Euphoria' - Glasvegas
11 - 'Korobeiniki' - Ozma
12 - 'Danger' - Marco Polo & Torae
13 - 'Motherquake' - DJ Fresh
14 - 'Hero' - Jessie J


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

MP3 album
icon icon
MP3 album
iTunes GB
MP3 album
MP3 album