Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Only Lovers Left Alive


Composers: Jozef Van Wissem and SQÜRL
Label: ATP Recordings
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 17 February 2014

ATP Recordings release Jozef Van Wissem and SQÜRL's soundtrack to Jim Jarmusch’s ‘crypto-vampire love story’ film Only Lovers Left Alive.

Not only does Jozef Van Wissem and SQÜRL's soundtrack to Only Lovers Left Alive beautifully compliment the onscreen action of the film, it also stands up on it’s own as an album of timeless and immersive music... if you like what you hear. To some it will be an intricate symphony of punk-esque energy. To others it will represent a grungy, of-the-moment (ie will age incredibly quickly) noise.

Sadly, I have to admit that I leaned more towards the latter camp. The music offers swampy, dark, desolate sounds that wonderfully encapsulate the feelings of teen angst and those years when you're no longer a child... but not quite an adult. A little naive in place, loud and in your face in others, the score flits around never truly finding its place. This is both its charm and its downfall.

Guest artists across these 4 tracks (48 min, 40 sec) include Yasmine Hamdan, who contributed her original track ‘Hal’. In addition Madeline Follin (of Cults) and Zola Jesus add their substantial vocal talents to ‘Funnel Of Love’ and ‘In Templum Dei’ respectively.

Track listing:

01 - 'Streets Of Detroit' - SQÜRL
02 - 'Funnel Of Love' - SQÜRL (featuring Madeline Follin)
03 - 'Sola Gratia (Part 1)' - Jozef Van Wissem & SQÜRL
04 - 'The Taste Of Blood' - Jozef Van Wissem & SQÜRL
05 - 'Diamond Star' - SQÜRL
06 - 'Please Feel Free To Piss In The Garden' - SQÜRL
07 - 'Spooky Action At A Distance' - SQÜRL
08 - 'Streets Of Tangier' - Jozef Van Wissem & SQÜRL
09 - 'In Templum Dei' - Jozef Van Wissem (featuring Zola Jesus)
10 - 'Sola Gratia (Part 2)' - Jozef Van Wissem & SQÜRL
11 - 'Our Hearts Condemn Us' - Jozef Van Wissem
12 - 'Hal' - Yasmine Hamdan
13 - 'Only Lovers Left Alive' - Jozef Van Wissem & SQÜRL
14 - 'This Is Your Wilderness' - Jozef Van Wissem & SQÜRL


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album