Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

The Final Member
Original Motion Picture Soundtrack


Composer: Rob Simonsen
Label: MovieScore Media
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 22 April 2014

MovieScore Media releases Rob Simonsen’s music for the taboo-breaking documentary The Final Member by Jonah Bekhor and Zach Math. The filmmakers guide you to Husavik, Iceland, home of the world’s only museum devoted to painstakingly preserved male genitalia. Founded and curated by Sigurður Hjartarson, the Icelandic Phallological Museum houses four decades worth of mammalian members, from a petite field mouse to the colossal sperm whale, and every “thing” in between. But, lamentably, Siggi’s collection lacks the holy grail of phallic phantasmagoria: a human specimen. Siggi’s world changes dramatically when he receives generous offers from an elderly Icelandic Casanova and an eccentric American...

Rob Simonsen's score for The Final Member represents an interesting collection of themes. The album contains 15 tracks (34 min), most of which have sweet, beautiful melodies at their core.

With the subject matter of the documentary being what it is, I was surprised there were no obvious comedy themes incorporated here - which I was grateful for. It would have been so easy for Simonsen to have taken the lazy, easy route, but what we have here is an album of intricate and emotional themes that will stay with you for some time to come.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

MP3 album
iTunes GB
MP3 album
MP3 album