Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Deep in the Darkness
Original Motion Picture Soundtrack


Composer: Matthew Llewellyn
Label: ScreamWorks Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 24 June 2014

ScreamWorks Records releases Matthew Llewellyn's score for Deep In The Darkness. The movie follows the journey of Dr. Michael Cayle (Sean Patrick Thomas) who leaves the chaos of New York City for the quiet town of Ashborough, hoping to bring his family closer together. Soon after arriving, however, he discovers the town's deepest secret: a terrifying and controlling race of creatures that live amongst the darkness in the woods behind his home...

Matthew Llewellyn's score for In the Darkness is one that you'll instantly warm to. The album contains 20 tracks (46 min, 32 sec) and is peppered with nods to some of Hollywood's most famous, modern composers.

For example, 'Rise of the Isolates' pays homage, ever so briefly, to John Williams's score for Star Wars, whilst there's a segment of 'Don't Trust Lady Zellis' that reminded me of 'Some Kind of Hero' in David Arnold's score for the Bond movie Die Another Day. In addition 'Welcome to Ashborough' knowingly borrows from Williams's Harry Potter.

But this is far more than a soundtrack that takes its inspiration from other composers. In fact, other than the very short segments mentioned above, this score has Llewellyn's personality stamped all over it. This is a beautiful score which houses some incredible themes ('Eyes in the Distance'; 'Black Light Beauty'; 'Ashborough Assimilation'; and 'Crawling for Jessica').

This is an impressive score. Llewellyn is a composer that's worth listening out for in the future. If you enjoyed his beautiful work for Dead Souls, then you'll equally love this release.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

MP3 album
iTunes GB
MP3 album
MP3 album