Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

The Boxtrolls
Original Motion Picture Soundtrack


Composer: Dario Marianelli
Label: Back Lot Music
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 23 September 2014

Back Lot Music release Dario Marianelli's score for The Boxtrolls. The Boxtrolls are a community of quirky, mischievous creatures who have lovingly raised a human boy named Eggs in the amazing cavernous home they’ve built beneath the streets of Cheesebridge. When the town’s villain, Archibald Snatcher, comes up with a plot to get rid of the Boxtrolls, Eggs decides to venture above ground, “into the light,” where he meets and teams up with fabulously feisty Winnie. Together, they devise a daring plan to save Eggs’ family...

Dario Marianelli's orchestral score for The Boxtrolls contains 21 tracks (1 hr, 02 min, 53 sec) and in places reminded me a lot of James Horner's score for The Pagemaster. This is most evident in the opening track 'The Unspeakable Has Happened' and 'Rooftop Chase'.

Personal highlights include 'Egg's Music Box'; 'Broken Eggs'; and 'I Was Given to Them'. I also thought that the songs 'Little Boxes' and 'Some Kids' performed by Loch Lomond were quite fun.

For those who enjoy James Horner-esque scores, you'll find much to like here.

Track listing:

01 - 'The Unspeakable Has Happened'
02 - 'The Scavengers'
03 - 'The Boxtrolls Cavern'
04 - 'Eggs’ Music Box'
05 - 'Quattro Sabatinos' – Dario Marianelli featuring Peter Harris, Alex Tsilogiannis, Thomas Kennedy, Edmund Saddington Peter Harris, Alex Tsilogiannis, Thomas Kennedy, Edmund Saddington
06 - 'One Busy Night'
07 - 'Rooftop Chase'
08 - 'Broken Eggs'
09 - 'Cheesebridge Funfair'
10 - 'The Boxtrolls Song' – Words & Music by Eric Idle; performed by Mark Orton & Loch Lomond
11 - 'Snatcher and His Stooges'
12 - 'Allergic'
13 - 'To the Rescue'
14 - 'I’m Sure I Am Delicious'
15 - 'I Was Given to Them'
16 - 'What’s a Father'
17 - 'Slap Waltz'
18 - 'Snatcher’s ‘Dramatical’ Entrance
19 - 'Look What You Did'
20 - 'Jelly!'
21 - 'Last Battle'
22 - 'Say Cheese'
23 - 'Little Boxes' – performed by Loch Lomond
24 - 'Some Kids' – performed by Loch Lomond
25 - 'Whole World' – performed by Loch Lomond


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album