Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

The Book of Life
Original Motion Picture Soundtrack


Composer: Gustavo Santaolalla
Performed by: Various
Label: Sony Classical
RRP: £13.99


8 887501 32321
Release Date: 27 October 2014

Sony Classical releases the various artists soundtrack for The Book of Life. The movie tells the legend of Manolo, a conflicted hero and dreamer who sets off on an epic quest through magical, mythical and wondrous worlds in order to reunite with his one true love and defend his village...

This is the second album release by Sony Classical for the movie The Book of Life. Also available is Gustavo Santaolalla's beautiful score. There is some crossover, with the track 'Visiting Mother' appearing on both albums, while demo and alternate tracks of some of the songs on this album appear on the score.

The album contains 18 tracks (37 min, 35 sec) and opens with probably the best track on the album; the pop song 'Live Life'. The rest of the album is a bit of a mixed bag. We get the beautiful 'Visiting Mother' track and then there's the rather silly, short tracks which rerecord segments of famous songs like Radiohead's 'Creep' and Rod Stewart's 'Do Ya Think I'm Sexy'. 'Just A Friend' seems to be a rather odd track to include on this score - although to be fair, I'm not sure how it appears in the film, but it just seems a strange shift in pace.

This is probably only one for fans of the movie.

Track listing:

01 - 'Live Life' - Jesse & Joy
02 - 'The Apology Song' - La Santa Cecilia
03 - 'No Matter Where You Are' - Us the Duo
04 - 'I Love You Too Much' - Diego Luna and Gustavo Santaolalla
05 - 'I Will Wait' - Joe Matthews, Diego Luna and Gustavo Santaolalla
06 - 'Mas' - Kinky
07 - 'Cielito Lindo' - Plácido Domingo
08 - 'Creep' - Diego Luna and Gustavo Santaolalla
09 - 'Can't Help Falling In Love With You' - Diego Luna and Gustavo Santaolalla
10 - 'Ecstasy Of Gold' - Gustavo Santaolalla
11 - 'Do Ya Think I'm Sexy' - Gabriel Iglesias and Gustavo Santaolalla
12 - 'Just A Friend' - Cheech Marin and Biz Markie
13 - 'El Aparato / Land of the Remembering' - Gustavo Santaolalla featuring Café Tacvba
14 - 'Visiting Mother' - Gustavo Santaolalla
15 - 'The Apology Song' - Diego Luna and Gustavo Santaolalla
16 - 'No Matter Where You Are' - Diego Luna, Zoë Saldana and Plácido Domingo
17 - 'Te Amo y Mas' - Diego Luna and Gustavo Santaolalla
18 - 'Si Puedes Perdonar' - Diego Luna and Gustavo Santaolalla


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album