Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Original Television Soundtrack
Season 1


Composer: Blake Neely
Label: Silva Screen Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 10 July 2015

Silva Screen Records release Blake Neely's soundtrack to the CW network's Arrow TV series, based on the Green Arrow comic book series. After a violent shipwreck, billionaire playboy Oliver Queen was missing and presumed dead for five years before being discovered alive on a remote island in the Pacific. He returned home to Starling City, welcomed by his devoted mother Moira, beloved sister Thea and former flame Laurel Lance. With the aid of his trusted chauffeur/bodyguard John Diggle, the computer-hacking skills of Felicity Smoak and the occasional, reluctant assistance of former police detective, now police captain, Quentin Lance, Oliver has been waging a one-man war on crime...

It was a little odd reviewing the score for Season One, when I reviewed the music for Season Two back in September 2014. While it's not a huge deal, it does mean that I've not been able to appreciate how Blake Neely's score has evolved. Thankfully, this release is just as impressive as the music for Season Two.

Neely goes melancholic, reflective compositions incredibly well. And, rather surprisingly, he also pulls off adrenaline pumping action themes too.

The one highlight on this album, for me, was the beautiful 'I Forgot Who I Was'. And to illustrate how diverse Neely's writing is for this series, the 'Oliver Queen Suite' is a pumping action adventure theme that knocks it out of the park.

There was a very brief hint of Howard Shore's score for The Silence of the Lambs in tracks including 'Returning Home / Scars' and 'Loss and Regrets'.

It's a good, solid score, that fans of the show will love.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album