Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

12 Monkeys
Music from the SYFY Original Television Series


Composers: Trevor Rabin and Paul Linford
Label: Varèse Sarabande
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 31 July 2015

Varèse Sarabande release Trevor Rabin and Paul Linford's score for the 12 Monkeys TV series. The show explores the provocative story of Cole, a time traveler from a decimated future in a high-stakes race against the clock. Using a dangerous and untested method of time travel, he journeys from 2043 to the present day on a mission to locate and eradicate the source of a deadly plague that will all but annihilate the human race...

Trevor Rabin and Paul Linford deliver an intricate, synth based sci-fi score for 12 Monkeys. The album contains 23 tracks (1 hr, 01 min, 23 sec). It's a score that works incredibly well in the show, and is a passable collection of tracks in its own right - if you're looking for a synth based sci-fi sounding score.

There are a handful of themes that will grab your attention - 'Katarina (Jones's Theme)' being the most obvious example, but there way more atmospheric background themes. While these work well in the show, they do sound a little bland when they are centre stage.

While it's not an essential purchase, there are enough memorable moments here to make it worth buying if you're a fan of the show.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

CD - Import
Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album