Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

The Drift / Darkwave: Edge of the Storm
Original Motion Picture Soundtracks


Composer: James Griffiths
Label: MovieScore Media
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 29 April 2016

MovieScore Media presents the official CD release of James Griffiths’s The Drift, one of the most welcome genre surprises of the indie film scene. The first feature film score of the composer, The Drift was a finalist at the Music and Sound Awards 2016, was nominated for The Siren Award for Best Original Composition in a Feature Film and won Best Surprise at the Soundtrack Geek Awards. Previously released on digital platforms, the label gives this fan favourite score an official CD release, expanded with the music for Darkwave: Edge of The Storm, a sequel set in the same universe...

James Griffiths’s scores for The Drift and Darkwave: Edge of the Storm are released on a single album. Containing 23 tracks (1 hr, 19 min, 52 sec) this is an interesting release, which contains a handful of memorable themes.

On balance it's mainly a background music cue collection, but what it does, it does well. Standout tracks include 'The Approach Suite'; 'Finale Lightwave'; and 'The Drift - End Credits'.

The score for The Drift comes in at 16 tracks (59 min, 01 sec) with the music for Darkwave: Edge of the Storm containing 7 tracks (20 min, 51 sec).

If you're a fan of the movies then this is a no brainer. And even if you haven't seen the films, there's enough interesting music here to make this an album worth checking out.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
Digital album