Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Department Q
The Keeper of Lost Causes
Original Motion Picture Soundtrack


Composers: Johan Söderqvist, Uno Helmersson and Patrik Andrén
Label: MovieScore Media
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 03 June 2016

Based on the acclaimed crime novel series by Jussi Adler-Olsen, Zentropa’s Department Q series is one of the biggest hits of Scandinavian cinema in recent years. Coinciding with the international release of A Conspiracy of Faith, the third film in the saga, MovieScore Media releases a whole trilogy of soundtracks which can be bought separately: The Keeper of Lost Causes and The Absent One, scored by Johan Söderqvist, Patrik Andrén and Uno Helmersson, and A Conspiracy of Faith featuring music by Nicklas Schmidt...

The Department Q series follows Inspectors Carl Mørck and Assad, two investigators whose job is to re-investigate cold cases whenever new evidence turns up. In The Keeper of Lost Causes, they look into the apparent suicide of a young girl who turns out to be alive and kept in place by a maniac serial killer.

Johan Söderqvist, Uno Helmersson and Patrik Andrén's score for the first movie in the Department Q series, Keeper of Lost Causes, represents an impressive collaboration which delivers some interesting music.

The album contains 16 tracks (40 min, 46 sec), with personal highlights including the haunting theme at the centre of 'Lasse', 'Car Crash', ' The Escape' and 'The Keeper of Lost Causes'; and the sweet 'Merethe and Carl'.

It's a good, solid score with plenty of interesting themes running through it.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album