Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Black Mirror
Men Against Fire
Original TV Soundtrack


Composers: Ben Salisbury and Geoff Barrow
Label: Lakeshore Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 21 October 2016

Lakeshore Records release Ben Salisbury and Geoff Barrow's score for Men Against Fire, an episode from the third series of Black Mirror. The British television anthology series focuses on speculative fiction with dark and satirical themes that examine the unanticipated consequences of new technologies...

Personally, bearing in mind that each series of Black Mirror has a very small number of episodes when compared to American shows, I'd have preferred to have had a collection of music from series three's six episodes rather than an entire album from just one episode. While Ben Salisbury and Geoff Barrow turn in a technically flawless score, it is a little too atmospheric to allow it to be accessible to most listeners on a standalone basis.

Sure, it adds atmosphere in the episode, but listened to on its own merits it soon crumbles. But then this was never designed to be heard outside of the show and it will only really be a novelty album for diehard fans of the series.

It's basically an average collection of music cues. The score contains 14 tracks (38 min, 23 sec).


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album