Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

The Bye Bye Man
Original Motion Picture Soundtrack


Composer: The Newton Brothers
Label: Sony Classical
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 06 January 2017

The Newton Brothers's latest score is for the horror movie, The Bye Bye Man. The film exposes the evil behind the most unspeakable acts committed by man. When three college friends stumble upon the horrific origins of the Bye Bye Man, they discover that there is only one way to avoid his curse: don’t think it, don’t say it. But once the Bye Bye Man gets inside your head, he takes control. Is there a way to survive his possession...?

Composers Andy Grush & Taylor Stewart, known collectively as The Newton Brothers, deliver exactly what you'll be expecting considering the genre. If you're a fan of cliched horror scores, packed with atmospheric music cues, then you'll lap this up. However, if you're looking for interesting themes then this is not for you.

This is a score that was never designed to work as a standalone collection of themes in its own right. As an atmospheric accompaniment to the movie this does its job and nothing more. It's merely a functional collection of horror cues. The album contains 34 tracks (1 hr, 16 min, 39 sec). The highlight is easily Richard Patrick's closing 'Train Song'.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album