Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Guardians of the Galaxy
Vol. 2
Awesome Mix Vol. 2


Performed by: Various Artists
Label: Marvel Music / Hollywood Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 28 April 2017

Marvel Music/Hollywood Records release the various artists album Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2: Awesome Mix Vol. 2. As most people know, Quill’s mum made the first tape (which was previously released to accompany the first film) for a slightly younger boy, and she made the second tape for a slightly older boy. As with the first volume, each song here is very specific to the scene where it’s placed in the film...

For those of us of a certain age, the songs on this album don't just represent segments of the movie, they're the soundtrack to our past. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2: Awesome Mix Vol. 2 has so many tracks that should already be in one of your well listened to playlists.

For younger listeners there will be songs that sound familiar, but they may not have known their origins. For example they may discover for the first time that theme tune for the UK's coverage of Formula One is actually taken from Fleetwood Mac's 'The Chain'.

But for fans of the movie, no matter what age, these 14 tracks (51 min, 59 sec) act as a loving souvenir to the spirit of the film.

01. “Mr. Blue Sky” - Performed by Electric Light Orchestra
02. “Fox on the Run” - Performed by Sweet
03. “Lake Shore Drive” - Performed by Aliotta Haynes Jeremiah
04. “The Chain” - Performed by Fleetwood Mac
05. “Bring It on Home to Me” - Performed by Sam Cooke
06. “Southern Nights” - Performed by Glen Campbell
07. “My Sweet Lord” - Performed by George Harrison
08. “Brandy (You're a Fine Girl)” - Performed by Looking Glass
09. “Come a Little Bit Closer” - Performed by Jay and The Americans
10. “Wham Bam Shang-a-Lang” - Performed by Silver
11. “Surrender” - Performed by Cheap Trick
12. “Father and Son” - Performed by Yusef / Cat Stevens
13. “Flash Light” - Performed by Parliament
14. “Guardians Inferno” - Performed by The Sneepers (Featuring - David Hasselhoff)


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album