Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Original Television Series Soundtrack
Volume 2


Composer: Jeff Russo
Label: Lakeshore Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 09 June 2017

Lakeshore Records release another volume of music for Jeff Russo's score from Legion, with the addition of the special Legion 'Fauxlero' version of Maurice Ravel’s 'Bolero' and Dan Stevens performing The Muppets’ classic 'The Rainbow Connection' on banjo.The TV series is based on the Marvel Comics by Chris Claremont and Bill Sienkiewicz, and follows David Haller – a troubled young man who may be more than human. Diagnosed as schizophrenic as a child, David has been in and out of psychiatric hospitals for years. Now in his early 30s and institutionalised once again, David must confront the shocking possibility that the voices he hears and the visions he sees are the result of him being a mutant...

As with the first volume, here's a lot about Jeff Russo's score here to love in a technical capacity. The album contains 10 tracks (28 min, 23 sec), and once again he delivers a good variety of tracks.

Sadly, once again, it's a really a collection of tracks that work much better (as you'd expect) when used in the medium they were composed for. Listened to on its own merits it just feels like atmospheric background music (which no doubt was the original intention). I doubt Russo intended this to be listened to outside of the show.

It goes without saying if you enjoyed the first volume then this is more of the same. But personally I'd listen to a few samples before you part with your money. 'First Entry Into Clockworks' is probably this album's standout track.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album