Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Mr. Robot
Original Television Series Soundtrack
Volume 3


Composer: Mac Quayle
Label: Lakeshore Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 09 June 2017

Lakeshore Records release the third volume of music from Mr. Robot, composed by Mac Quayle. The TV series follows Elliot, a young programmer who works as a cyber-security engineer by day and as a vigilante hacker by night.  Elliot finds himself at a crossroads when the mysterious leader of an underground hacker group recruits him to destroy the firm he is paid to protect.  Compelled by his personal beliefs, Elliot struggles to resist the chance to take down the multinational CEOs he believes are running (and ruining) the world...

Pretty much following in the footsteps of the the move in tone of the TV series, Mac Quayle's third volume of music for Mr. Robot gets a little darker and a lot more foreboding.

The album is comprised of 24 tracks (1 hr, 06 min, 01 sec) and while I did, on balance, enjoy its weird and creepy elements, it's only really going to be embraced by fans of the show and lovers of electronic scores.

There's a slight respite from the electronic mayhem in tracks like '2.0_6-madame3xecutioner.oga' (which is a mellow piano based theme); '2.0_7-jester-actual.dss'; and '2.0_9-unexpectedpresents', where Quayle is allowed a moment to show his more subtle and chilled out side.

You're going to love or hate this release.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album