Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

The Void
Original Motion Picture Soundtrack


Composers: Various
Label: Lakeshore Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 30 June 2017

Lakeshore Records release the original score for The Void, which was composed by a number of composers. When police officer Carter discovers a blood-soaked man limping down a deserted road, he rushes him to a local hospital with a bare bones, night shift staff. As cloaked, cult-like figures surround the building, the patients and staff inside start to turn ravenously insane. Trying to protect the survivors, Carter leads them into the depths of the hospital where they discover a gateway to immense evil...

It's another atmospheric music cue horror score; one you've heard a thousand times before and will no doubt hear many many more times. The problem with these releases is that there are no real themes, nothing that you can identify the movie with. This is purely electronic ambient noise designed to do one thing and one thing only: ramp up the tension in the movie.

While it undoubtedly does that perfectly well, I don't understand who would want to own this sort of score and listen to it in isolation - something, no doubt, the composers never intended.

Each track merges into the next and there's nothing here that's noteworthy - for good or bad reasons. This is just another horror score that will creep the hell out of you.

While I did enjoy the technical merits of just how creepy it is, I can't honestly say I'd be keen on listening to this for pleasure.

Track listing:

01. Nowhere - Jeremy Gillespie
02. Starless Night / The Void - Jeremy Gillespie
03. The Hospital - Brian Wiacek
04. Beverly - Brian Wiacek
05. The Shape - Menalon
06. The Walk - Blitz//Berlin
07. A Hole In The World - Blitz//Berlin
08. A Death In The Family - Menalon
09. Desperate Times - Brian Wiacek
10. Trapped - Blitz//Berlin
11. Calling Them Here - Blitz//Berlin
12. Desperate Measures - Brian Wiacek
13. Resurrection - Menalon
14. Cloak And Dagger / The Call - Blitz//Berlin
15. The Answer - Blitz//Berlin
16. Dysmorphia - Jeremy Gillespie
17. The Axe - Blitz//Berlin & Brian Wiacek
18. Infested / Jagged Pulse - Blitz//Berlin
19. Descent - Brian Wiacek
20. In The Walls - Blitz//Berlin
21. Sacrifices - Blitz//Berlin
22. A Small Hope - Blitz//Berlin
23. Doorway - Brian Wiacek
24. The Red Room / Maggie - Blitz//Berlin
25. It’s Your Fault / Ceremony - Blitz//Berlin
26. Passage - Menalon
27. Place Of Worship / Configuration - Menalon
28. The Birth - Blitz//Berlin
29. The Child / This Isn’t The End - Blitz//Berlin
30. Run Like Hell - Blitz//Berlin
31. Aftermath / Last Hope - Blitz//Berlin
32. Going To See The King - Jahmeel Russell, Amy de Blois, Darrell Simpson, Jeremy Gillespie


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
Digital album