Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (1968)
(2017 Vinyl Reissue)


Music & Lyrics: Richard M. Sherman and Robert B. Sherman
Performed by: Dick Van Dyke, Sally Ann Howes, Lionel Jeffries and Gert Fröbe
Label: Varèse Sarabande
Click here to buy -
Release Date: 11 August 2017

Newly re-mastered, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang is the return of a classic, complete with original artwork and new photos. Written by The Sherman Brothers with a cast which included Dick Van Dyke, the famous songwriters put it thusly when asked about Chitty Chitty Bang Bang; “Mary Poppins was the most successful thing we ever did. This is better. We’re much more pleased with our music for Chitty...”

Varèse Sarabande is releasing three soundtracks this month (August 2017) as vinyl LP packages exclusive to Barnes & Noble. They include Unforgiven (1992 - Lennie Niehaus); Saban's Power Rangers (2017 - Brian Tyler); and this release, the classic movie musical Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (1968 - Cast Recording).

While this soundtrack has been reissued many, many times in the past, this is the first time (according to the label) that it has been reissued on vinyl.

For those of us of a certain age, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang is a huge part of our childhood. And one I'm happy to report, having reviewed the 2008 DVD reissue, is still a good old fashioned family film.

The soundtrack, to be perfectly honest, was never that strong anyway. The numbers are average at best, and don't stand on their own two feet. The best of the bunch include 'Hushabye Mountain'; 'Lovely, Lonely Man'; and 'Doll On a Music Box & Truly Scrumptious'... and at a push 'Chitty Chitty Bang Bang'.

The album contains 16 songs (38 min, 29 sec) and is probably only really going to appeal to those who nostalgically remember the original vinyl release.

Track lising:

01. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
02. You Two
03. Toot Sweets
04. Hushabye Mountain
05. Me Ol' Bam-Boo
06. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
07. Truly Scrumptious
08. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (Reprise)
09. Lovely Lonely Man
10. Posh!
11. Hushabye Mountain (Reprise)
12. The Roses of Success
13. Chu-Chi Face
14. Doll On a Music Box/Truly Scrumptious
15. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (Finale) 16. Main Title/Chitty Chitty Bang Bang


Darren Rea