Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Bojack Horseman
Music from the Netflix Original Series


Composer: Jesse Novak
Artists: Various
Label: Lakeshore Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 29 September 2017

Lakeshore Records release the soundtrack to BoJack Horseman, featuring the iconic main title track by Patrick Carney, and the infectious closing theme by Grouplove. Michelle Branch, Oberhofer, Nina Simone and original songs and score by Jesse Novak are also featured. Set in a Los Angeles in which humans and anthropomorphic animal-people coexist, the animated show centres around one man (who is also a horse) who peaked early and is trying to figure out what to do with his life now. An outrageous and dark comedy with a melancholy centre, the show asks the question, “What happens when you have the world at your fingertips and you still can’t figure out how to be happy...?”

The soundtrack, like the show itself, is one that you're going to totally love or really not get. There are a lot of jingle-style sing-song music cues as well as several various artists songs, but the majority of this score's 25 tracks (42 min, 01 sec) are made up of Jesse Novak's rather odd, but strangely compelling score.

While personally it wasn't my thing, I can understand why fans of the show will love it.

Track listing:

01. BoJack’s Theme (feat. Ralph Carney) - Patrick Carney
02. Horsin’ Around Theme - Jesse Novak
03. A Horse With No Name (feat. Michelle Branch) - Patrick Carney
04. Mr. Peanutbutter’s House Theme - Jesse Novak
05. I Will Always Think Of You - Jane Krakowski and Colman Domingo
06. Get Dat Fetus Kill Dat Fetus (feat. Daniele Gaither & Manus Dunbar) - Jesse Novak
07. Kyle and The Kids (feat. Carrick Moore Gerety) - Jesse Novak
08. Stars (Live at Montreux) – Nina Simone
09. Back In The 90’s - Grouplove
10. BoJack’s Theme (Full Length) [feat. Ralph Carney] - Patrick Carney
11. Seaport - Jesse Novak
12. Hallway - Jesse Novak
13. Kelsey Apology - Jesse Novak
14. Chasing Kelsey - Jesse Novak
15. Seahorse Birth - Jesse Novak
16. Post Birth - Jesse Novak
17. Baby Seahorse and Convenience Store - Jesse Novak
18. Shark Chase - Jesse Novak
19. Darkness and Tunnel - Jesse Novak
20. Fan Section - Jesse Novak
21. Factory - Jesse Novak
22. Flying - Jesse Novak
23. Seahorse Reunion - Jesse Novak
24. Final Kelsey Pursuit - Jesse Novak
25. Sea of Dreams - Oberhofer


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album