Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Flatliners (2017)
Original Motion Picture Soundtrack


Composer: Nathan Barr
Label: Sony Masterworks
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 29 September 2017

Sony Music release Nathan Barr's original score for Flatliners. The movie follows five medical students, obsessed by the mystery of what lies beyond the confines of life. They embark on a daring and dangerous experiment: by stopping their hearts for short periods of time, each triggers a near-death experience – giving them a firsthand account of the afterlife. But as their experiments become increasingly dangerous, they are each haunted by the sins of their pasts, brought on by the paranormal consequences of trespassing to the other side...

Nathan Barr's score for Flatliners is a bit of an odd one. On a technical level I totally loved the style and feel - it certainly acted as an additional character in the movie and is integral in setting the mood... but, and sadly this is a big "but", it's not really the sort of music you can enjoy outside of the environment of the movie.

The album contains 22 songs (43 min, 53 sec) and there is the odd track that you can cling on to - 'The Bridge' being probably the most obvious example. But on balance is probably a soundtrack best heard where it was originally intended - in the movie.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album