Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Jean-Michel Bernard Plays Lalo Schifrin

Composer: Lalo Schifrin
Performed by: Jean-Michel Bernard
Label: Varèse Sarabande
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 06 October 2017

Varèse Sarabande release Jean-Michel Bernard Plays Lalo Schifrin, the result of a concert performed by Jean-Michel Bernard celebrating the music of legendary composer Lalo Schifrin at the 2016 La Baule Film Music Festival in France. In amongst the tracks, the album features three piano duets performed by Bernard with Schifrin himself...

Inspired by the music of Lalo Schifrin and determined to recreate the historic moment by recording his arrangements for this album, Jean-Michel Bernard began recording this LP – featuring Lalo’s beloved music from Mannix, Cool Hand Luke, Bullitt, The Cincinnati Kid, The Cat, the Dirty Harry Suite (featuring composer – and Clint’s son – Kyle Eastwood on electric bass), plus a melodic trip to Lalo’s roots with pieces like Lalo’s Bossa Nova and Tango Del Atardecer. After an initial recording session in France, Lalo invited Jean-Michel to Los Angeles to record a series of duets at the legendary Capitol Studios where Lalo would join him for three pieces ('Introduction to The Plot', 'Cheketeers Suite' and 'Chano').

If you're a fan of Schifrin's original music, then you'll be impressed with the attention to detail that Bernard brings in his interpretations. There's some classic music here including 'Cool Hand Luke'; 'Dirty Harry'; 'Mission Impossible'... In all 17 tracks (1 hr, 06 min, 11 sec) of Schifrin's finest work is brought to life

Track listing:

01. Mannix
02. Bullitt
03. Cool Hand Luke
04. Dirty Harry Suite
05. Lalo's Bossa Nova
06. Mission: Impossible
07. That Night
08. Tango Del Atardecer
09. The Cat
10. Les Felins
11. The Cincinnati Kid
12. Introduction To The Plot
13. The Plot
14. Cheketeers Suite
15. Manteca
16. Chano
17. Mannix Ballad


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album