Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Original Motion Picture Soundtrack


Composer: Carter Burwell
Artists: Townes Van Zandt, Monsters of Folk, The Four Tops and Joan Baez
Label: Varèse Sarabande
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 17 November 2017

Varèse Sarabande release the Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, which features original music by Carter Burwell. After months have passed without a culprit in her daughter’s murder case, Mildred Hayes makes a bold move, commissioning three signs leading into her town with a controversial message directed at William Willoughby, the town's revered chief of police. When his second-in-command Officer Dixon, an immature mother’s boy with a penchant for violence, gets involved, the battle between Mildred and Ebbing's law enforcement is only exacerbated...

For those looking for a musical souvenir of the movie, the soundtrack for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri delivers in spades. Carter Burwell gives us a subtle, interesting score and while it doesn't really deliver much in the way of memorable themes, it washes over you and certainly acts as another character in the movie.

What worked best here for me were the various artists tracks - which set the scene and the atmosphere for the film so well that you could almost believe that the songs were specifically written and recorded for the movie.

Personally though, I don't think it's an album that has much life in it. While I'll play it to death now, on the strength of the movie, it's very doubtful I'd be returning to it in six months, let alone years from now.

Overall, though, it's an enjoyable soundtrack that will be welcomed by fans of the movie.

Track listing:

01. Mildred Goes to War (1:22)
02. The Deer (2:06)
03. Buckskin Stallion Blues — Performed by Townes Van Zandt (2:59)
04. A Cough of Blood, A Dark Drive (2:37)
05. I've Been Arrested (:38)
06. Fruit Loops (1:29)
07. His Master's Voice — Performed by Monsters Of Folk (4:49)
08. Billboards On Fire (2:24)
09. Slippers (1:19)
10. The Last Rose of Summer — Performed by Renée Fleming, Jeffrey Tate & The English Chamber Orchestra (4:51)
11. My Dear Anne (2:35)
12. Walk Away Renee — Performed by The Four Tops (2:44)
13. Billboards Are Back (1:24)
14. Collecting Samples (1:15)
15. Sorry Welby (1:43)
16. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down — Performed by Joan Baez (3:23)
17. Countermove (1:56) 
18. Can't Give Up Hope (:30)
19. Buckskin Stallion Blues — Performed by Amy Annelle (3:21)


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album