Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Music from the Motion Picture


Composers: Ben Salisbury and Geoff Barrow
Label: Lakeshore Records / Invada Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 23 February 2018

Lakeshore Records and Invada Records co-release the Annihilation soundtrack, featuring a score by Ben Salisbury and Geoff Barrow. The movie follows Lena, a biologist and former soldier, who joins a mission to uncover what happened to her husband inside Area X - a sinister and mysterious phenomenon that is expanding across the American coastline.  Once inside, the expedition discovers a world of mutated landscape and creatures, as dangerous as it is beautiful, that threatens both their lives and their sanity...

There are two versions of this album available to buy. The standard release contains 18 tracks (59 min, 56 sec) and a special release with 29 tracks (1 hr, 22 min, 15 sec). To be honest I couldn't see it mattering which edition you pick up. It's not really music, just a huge collection of electronic noise cues with the occasional tune that only really catches your attention because the rest of the album is so bland.

I'm sure it's great in the movie, but it's a truly awful collection of noise when listened to on its own merits.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album