Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Original Motion Picture Soundtrack


Composer: Kristian Eidnes Andersen
Label: Cold Spring Records
Release Date: 06 September 2019

Cold Spring Records releases the Original Motion Picture Soundtrack to Antichrist – an English language Danish horror film from 2009, shot in Germany – composed by Lars Von Trier. In the movie, starring Willem Dafoe and Charlotte Gainsbourg, a couple grieving from the death of their child travel to a cabin retreat in the woods in an attempt to save their marriage. But Nature here is Satan’s Church, and when their surroundings turn evil it doesn’t bode well. The score is presented as a Limited Edition ‘Eden Olive’ and Black Etched Vinyl. The tracks are: 'Intro'; 'Lascia Ch’io Pianga Prologue'; 'Train'; 'Foetus; Attic'; 'Lascia Ch’io Pianga Epilogue'; 'Credits Part 1'; and 'Credits Part 2'...

There isn’t very much to say about this one, apart from the fact it’s very dull to listen to as an isolated soundtrack. To a degree, it doesn’t matter how well the product looks aesthetically; what works as incidental music or atmospheric mood pieces doesn’t always maintain its identity once removed from its mothership. In other words, this work was designed specifically to work in conjunction with the film. All bar two of these pieces are just natural sounds and internal body recordings (I can’t wait for ‘Tummy Rumbling’  - The 12” disco Remix!). There is an alternative sombre performance of Handel’s 'Lascia Ch’io Pianga', recorded in Kastelskirken church in Copenhagen, which is very nice. However, if you want to savour original classical music then surely you go to the source.

It's interesting to note that the press release blurb lists favourable quotes about the movie itself, rather than the soundtrack.


Ty Power

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
Digital album
Digital album