Click here to return to the main site.

DVD Review

DVD cover

Ivor the Engine
The Complete Collection


Distributor: Fabulous Films Ltd / Fremantle Media Enterprises
RRP: £19.99
Certificate: U
Release Date: 10 August 2020

Ivor the Engine has been delighting children and adults for more than three generations. This extraordinary engine who lives in the “top left-hand corner of Wales”, sings in a Welsh male-voice choir and has a dragon housed in his firebox, was invented, or perhaps discovered, by Oliver Postgate and Peter Firmin over 60 years ago. The Complete Collection contains 24 colour episodes...

Ivor the Engine: The Complete Collection contains all of the colour episodes that were produced in the '70s. However they're not presented in the original production order, not that that really matters or will spoil your enjoyment of the show. The episodes come in at different lengths as on this release some of the stories that were originally broadcast in two or more separate episodes, have been joined together.

It's not technically a "Complete Collection" as the original black and white episodes from the '50s aren't included, even though they all exist. The disc has the episodes split into series one and series two... however this seems to have been ordered in any old fashion as one of the last episodes on series two, 'The Hat' was actually the second episode from series one when originally produced.

The animation was designed to be cheap and cheerful, and it's certainly that. And, despite a borderline racist Indian character, this show has aged fairly well. It's the perfect kid's series that adults can also enjoy.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online