Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Sackboy: A Big Adventure
Original Soundtrack


Composers: Nick Foster, Joe Thwaites and Jay Waters
Label: Sony Music Masterworks
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 11 December 2020

Sony Music Masterworks releases Sackboy: A Big Adventure, an album of music from the new PlayStation video game featuring the iconic character. The album includes score music written primarily by composers Nick Foster, Joe Thwaites and Jay Waters, with additional compositions by Lena Raine, George King, Glen Brown, Brian d’Oliveira, Winifred Phillips and Jim Fowler. Also included within the album are tracks from artists 2 Mello, Opiuo and Tokyo Machine, who contribute an exclusive remix...

The music for the new Sackboy game Sackboy A Big Adventure is just as bright and full of life as the game is. Quirky, fun and designed to grab your attention from the start, the composers don't disappoint. Even the track titles will have you chuckling away to yourself.

The game's main theme is back to the old school discipline of being a main theme you can hum (and you will once it gets lodged in your head). There are also fun reworkings of songs you might just recognise... including Depeche Mode's 'Just Cant Get Enough', Madonna's 'Material Girl', A-Ha's 'Take On Me', Bart Howard's 'Fly Me to the Moon (In Other Words)' and Madness's 'House of Fun'.

On balance Nick Foster's contributions are the most polished, delivering themes and set pieces worthy of a Hollywood blockbuster, but all of the contributions are important in their own way, helping to build this up into a wonderfully diverse album of pure fun. And considering it contains 47 tracks (2 hr, 24 min, 02 sec) you certainly get your money's worth.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
Digital album
Digital album