Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Music From the Netflix Original Anime Series


Composer: Kevin Penkin
Label: Milan Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 28 May 2021

Milan Records releases Eden: Music From the Netflix Original Anime Series by composer Kevin Penkin. Thousands of years in the future, a city known as “Eden 3” is inhabited solely by robots whose former masters vanished a long time ago. On a routine assignment, two farming robots accidentally awaken a human baby girl from stasis questioning all they were taught to believe - that humans were nothing more than a forbidden ancient myth. Together, the two robots secretly raise the child in a safe haven outside Eden...

The music of Eden is charming, inspiring and packed with lots of intricate themes and set pieces. It's one of those lush, rich scores that stands on its own two feet as an emotionally charged album.

Of the soundtrack, composer Kevin Penkin says, "Eden is one of those projects that I will cherish forever. The love put into this project not only from the team, but also the musicians, is humbling. Being able to work with people who gave so much trust in the direction of the music is something I will forever cherish. Please enjoy the unique world of Eden, as we combine the unique worlds of a 3D-printed 6-string violin, female voices and electro-acoustic sound-sources. We have tried to put our best foot forward to honour the amazing work of this team."

The album contains 39 tracks (1 hr, 04 min, 26 sec) and I was surprised to find this not only full of engaging and richly layered themes, but also at the sheer amount of diversity on offer. This is a wonderful score that you should check out even if you're not a fan of the show. Penkin weaves his magic and manages to get under your skin. A true master fine tuning his craft.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
Digital album