Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

12 Compost Disco Years
Vol. 1


Artist: Various Artists
Label: Compost Records
CODIS 022-3
Release Date: 03 December 2021

For the 12 years Compost Disco (sub-)label anniversary the studio is releasing a three-volume anthology package that includes 15 exclusive, previously unreleased tracks. A brilliant cocktail of disco-ish tunes by the likes of Dimitri From Paris & DJ Rocca, AN-2, Mark E, Ed Lee, Manuel Tur, Chocolate Garage Production, Velmondo, Ron Deacon and some other suspect alter egos. Destined for the sunset crew, for the hip shaking, for the gym, for those, who are open-minded about disco anyways, for more parties, last but not least for salvation. The Vol. 1 starter package contains five brand new, unreleased, exclusive tracks, coupled with four best of Compost Disco catalogue tracks. The variety ranges across the floor from boogie, italo, new wave, classic soulful, balearic, neo-disco, housey, downbeat, fusion, garage, to tech-disco. Tasty, hypnotizing and emotional...

12 Compost Disco Years: Vol. 1 consists of 9 (53 min, 59 sec) groovy, thumping disco tracks - the first 5 of which are new, previously unreleased tracks. It's the first volume in a three album series which will deliver 15 exclusive, unreleased tracks and showcase highlights of the label's first 12 years.

Volume 1 is instantly accessible, if you're a disco nerd, and offers a wide spread of what the genre has to offer. From the opening 'Rock' from Chocolate Garage Production to the closing 'Save That Magic Feeling' by DJ Pippi & Willie Graff this album never disappoints.

The perfect album to kick off your shoes and chill to, or to put on in the background while you get ready for a night out.

Track listing:

01. Chocolate Garage Production “Rock” (5:23)
02. Dimitri From Paris & DJ Rocca “The Compass Point” (5:10)
03. AN-2 “Sunburnt” (8:51)
04. Manuel Tur “S6 Hansaring” (4:33)
05. Ron Deacon “Killersong“ (5:49)
06. The Blaxpoited Orchestra “Until The Day” (4:45)
07. Ed Lee feat. Alison David “You Are The Star” (Extended Dub) (5:56)
08. Supersoulsonic “Have Some Fun” (Michael Reinboth & Christian Prommer Edit) (6:17)
09. DJ Pippi & Willie Graff “Save That Magic Feeling” (Vocal Version) (7:15)


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Digital album