Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Minions: The Rise of Gru
Original Motion Picture Soundtrack


Artists: Various
Label: Decca Records
RRP: £13.99
6 02445 83624 6
Release Date: 01 July 2022

Decca Records release the various artists original motion picture soundtrack for Illumination’s Minions: The Rise of Gru. Set in the 1970s, the film tells the origin story of how Gru, the world’s greatest supervillain, first met his iconic Minions, forged cinema’s most despicable crew and faced off against the most unstoppable criminal force ever assembled...

The original soundtrack to Minions: The Rise of Gru contains 19 tracks (58 min, 07 sec). For those looking forward to hearing the score by Heitor Pereira this is a various artists compilation album. It does close with 'Minions: The Rise of Gru Score Suite' (3 min, 51 sec) by Pereira, which in its short run time instantly serves up the perfect Minions vibe.

The album kicks off with Diana Ross ft. Tame Impala ‘Turn Up The Sunshine’. The album delivers a fine collection of dazzling funk, disco and soul classics with brand-new versions of some of the greatest hits of the 1970s from some of today’s hottest talent. From St. Vincent’s new take on Lipps Inc’s 1979 hit 'Funkytown' and H.E.R.’s rendition of Sly and The Family Stone’s 1967 smash 'Dance to the Music', to Bleachers version of John Lennon’s 1970 track 'Instant Karma!' and Phoebe Bridgers’ interpretation of The Carpenters’ 1972 single 'Goodbye To Love'... And of course, the Minions themselves star on the album, with their distinctive performance of the classic Simon & Garfunkel 1970s favourite, 'Cecilia'

It's interesting to hear how modern artists reinterpret some of these tracks. Of particular note is Phoebe Bridgers’ reworking of 'Goodbye To Love'. It modernises it beautifully while paying great respect to the original.

For young fans of the movie this is a wonderful album which they'll get many hours of pleasure from and, even more importantly, their parents won't get sick of it when they've had it on repeat for hours at a time.

Track listing:

01. Turn Up The Sunshine – Diana Ross ft. Tame Impala
02. Shining Star – Brittany Howard ft. Verdine White (Earth, Wind & Fire 1975)
03. Funkytown – St. Vincent (Lipps Inc in 1979)
04. Hollywood Swinging – BROCKHAMPTON (Kool & The Gang 1974)
05. Desafinado – Kali Uchis (Stan Getz & Joao Gilberto 1959)
06. Bang Bang – Caroline Polachek (Nancy Sinatra 1966)
07. Fly Like an Eagle – Thundercat (Steve Miller Band 1976)
08. Goodbye To Love – Phoebe Bridgers (The Carpenters 1972)
09. Instant Karma! – Bleachers (John Lennon 1970)
10. You’re No Good – Weyes Blood (Linda Ronstadt 1975)
11. Vehicle – Gary Clark Jr. (The Ides of March 1970)
12. Dance to the Music – H.E.R. (Sly and The Family Stone 1967)
13. Black Magic Woman – Tierra Whack (Santana 1970)
14. Cool – Verdine White
15. Born To Be Alive – Jackson Wang (Patrick Hernandez 1979)
16. Cecilia – The Minions (Simon & Garfunkel 1970)
17. Bang Bang – G.E.M. (Nancy Sinatra 1966)
18. Kung Fu Suite – RZA
19. Minions: The Rise of Gru Score Suite – Heitor Pereira


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Digital album
Digital album