Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Resident Evil
Soundtrack from the Netflix Series


Composer: Gregory Reveret
Label: Milan Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 15 July 2022

Milan Records releases the Soundtrack from the Netflix series Resident Evil, by Gregory Reveret. In the first live-action series of the horror franchise, it is 2036 – 14 years after the spread of the virus Joy. Jade Wesker fights to survive in a world overrun by violent and ravenous blood thirsty infected creatures, haunted by her past in Raccoon City, her father’s connections to the chilling Umbrella Corporation, but mostly by what happened to her Sister, Billie. The French-born composer’s music has featured on Radio 1, Rinse FM, KCRW, and Solid Steel Radio. He has contributed works to the movies Furious 7, Avengers: Age of Ultron, and Power Rangers. For this score he has crossed styles, utilising action-heavy orchestral music, African percussion and 1960s laboratory equipment. A collaboration with electronic musician deadmau5 (pronounced ‘dead mouse’) took place on the single 'My Heart Has Teeth', with the vocals supplied by Skylar Grey. A second single from this collection, 'Venus Flytrap (Main Theme)', features a synth-heavy number with drums recorded by Craig Macintyre of The Goo Goo Dolls. The soundtrack is available for download...

Track List: 'Sea of Zeroes'; 'Plague from God'; 'The Doberman'; 'What is Happening'; 'Evelyn’s Plan'; 'Lab Search'; 'My Son is Dead'; 'Venus Flytrap (Main Theme)'; 'Meet Bert'; 'Humvee Chase'; 'Don’t Eat Cats'; 'Home Safe'; 'Lickers Attack'; 'Final Battle'; 'My Heart Has Teeth'.

A sinister mysteries-of-the-East sound, with a tribal beat, introduces us to 'Sea of Zeroes'. It soon evolves into a building chase with dark foreboding. This theme is continued with more restraint and more of a Industrial aspect. The ever-existent mystical cry begins to grate a little, as the music turns more incidental but with an underlying drama. Electronica is a present force in these tracks, utilised to create an off-kilter or bizarre feel. 'Evelyn’s Plan' is perhaps the best example of this. 'My Son Is Dead' has more of a structure and rhythm, and is somewhat reminiscent of a track you may find on one of John Carpenter’s Lost Themes albums.

The single 'Venus Flytrap (Main Theme)', but for the drums, has no real drive. A both haunting and Industrial attachment seems to pull the music back, and the vocal chants are, frankly, annoying and over-used. 'Meet Bert' has a quirky, almost childlike carnival feel. 'Humvee Chase' has potential but is far too short… and will someone please gag that drunk-sounding voice going "oh, oh, oh" over the top of everything! 'Home Safe' is a nice acoustic piece, but the track with the most action, drama and pace is undoubtedly 'Final Battle'. We finish with the single 'My Heart Has Teeth', certainly the better of the two single releases. Unfortunately, the song doesn’t have teeth. This collection certainly has its moments, but I just couldn’t get past the Norman Wisdom impressions on nearly every track.


Ty Power

Buy this item online

Digital album
Digital album