Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

His Dark Materials
Series 3 - Episodes 5 & 6
Original Television Soundtrack


Composer: Lorne Balfe
Label: Silva Screen Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 20 December 2022

Silva Screen Records release the soundtrack for His Dark Materials: Series 3 - Episodes 5 & 6, composed by Lorne Balfe. This is the third installment of soundtrack highlights from season three. A total of four albums are being released for this season...

The music for episodes 5 & 6 of the third season of His Dark Materials once again changes focus. Here, the music presented has a balance that leans in the favour of unsettling and eerie themes, with beautiful cores.

The album opens with 'New Surroundings', which is hauntingly beautiful, before moving on to deliver deeper and more fantastical themes. 'Don't be Afraid' conjures up images of the unknown and mysterious foes, whilst 'The Porter's Key' focuses on magical wonderment.

It's another compelling and richly layered collection from composer Lorne Balfe, who has really dug deep to deliver some incredibly emotive themes.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Digital album
Digital album