Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

His Dark Materials
Series 3 - Episodes 7 & 8
Original Television Soundtrack


Composer: Lorne Balfe
Label: Silva Screen Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 27 December 2022

Silva Screen Records release the soundtrack for His Dark Materials: Series 3 - Episodes 7 & 8, composed by Lorne Balfe. This is the fourth installment of soundtrack highlights from season three. A total of four albums have being released for this season...

Lorne Balfe once again weaves his magic. These 15 tracks (49 min, 43 sec) represent music from the final two episodes of season three of His Dark Materials. Once again, what's delivered here is impressive in both scope and quality. The previous three albums, and The Musical Anthology of His Dark Materials: Series Three, represent an essential musical souvenir for lovers of the series. Equally, it's a must own collection for soundtrack collectors - even if they haven't been following the series.

Balfe delivers a masterclass in how to compose engaging, exciting music for any occasion. The final collection in the series is a little more diverse, bringing back the wonderful main theme, but also drawing on melancholic, epic, and eerie set pieces.

This is a collection I know I'll never tire of revisiting. An incredible body of work that works wonderfully as a standalone collection of music in its own right.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Digital album
Digital album