Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

The Essential Games Music Collection
Vol. 3


Composers: Various
Performed by: London Music Works
Label: Silva Screen Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 10 February 2023

The third installment in Silva Screen’s games soundtracks collection is available digitally. The selection features a wide range of music from both award-winning and well-established film and TV soundtrack composers such as Clint Mansell, Bear McCreary, Hans Zimmer, and composers well known within the games soundtracks community - Inon Zur, Motoi Sakuraba, Yuka Kitamura, Jack Wall, Daniel Rosenfeld, Shoi Miyazawa, Tai Tomisawa, Tsukasa Saitoh and Yoshimi Kudo...

For lovers of epic scores, London Music Works latest addition to The Essential Games Music Collection should certainly be on your list to purchase. Following on from volumes One and Two, this third offering delivers 11 tracks (39 min, 20 sec) of music from 11 games.

The album features a number of epic tracks backed by choirs such as Bear McCreary’s 'God of War' and Motoi Sakuraba and Yuka Kitamura’s ‘Theme’ from Dark Souls 3, as well as the Tsukasa Saitoh’s unnerving ‘Cleric Beast’ from Bloodborne reminding of the best horror soundtracks. The album opens with the cello theme in ‘Journey’ from Destiny 2 and proceeds to piano centric and sweeping orchestral tracks, leading to Clint Mansell’s ‘Leaving Earth’ from Mass Effect 3 and Daniel Rosnefeld’s quirky ‘Sweden’ from Minecraft, evoking a sound of Bach’s Fugue. Hans Zimmer delivers a pulsating and rich, hybrid orchestral track in ‘Intro’ From Crysis 2, whilst ‘The Song of the Dragonborn’ from Skyrim and Elden Ring ‘Theme’ fittingly bring to conclusion this exhilarating album.

As is the case with previous volumes in this series, it whet my appetite enough to seek out and purchase several of the scores showcased here - most notably the soundtrack for Dark Souls 3. So, as a sampler for some of the highlights currently out there this is well worth picking up.

Track listing:

01. Journey (from Destiny 2) - C Paul Johnson, Michael Salvatori, Pieter Schlosser, Rotem Moav, Skye Lewin.
02. Main Theme (from Fallout 4) - Inon Zur
03. Suicide Mission (from Mass Effect 2) - Jack Wall
04. Leaving Earth (from Mass Effect 3) - Clint Mansell
05. God of War (from God of War) - Bear McCreary
06. Theme (from Dark Souls 3) - Motoi Sakuraba and Yuka Kitamura
07. Sweden (from Minecraft) - Daniel Rosenfeld
08. Cleric Beast (from Bloodborne) - Tsukasa Saitoh
09. Intro (From Crysis 2) - Hans Zimmer
10. The Song of the Dragonborn (from Skyrim) - Jeremy Soule
11. Elden Ring (From Elden Ring) - Shoi Miyazawa, Tai Tomisawa, Tsukasa Saitoh, Yoshimi Kudo, Yuka Kitamura


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Digital album