Seasons of the Witch - Vol 1

Author: Laura J. Burns and Emma Harrison
Simon and Schuster
RRP 5.99
ISBN 0 689 87271 2
Available 06 September 2004

Three sisters, three seasons, three Charmed stories in one book. Covering Halloween, the winter solstice and the start of spring, each of the three tales centres on one of the Halliwell sisters...

Samhain is based around Halloween - traditionally a time to reflect, a time of divination, and a time to honour the ancients. Phoebe's plans to communicate with her ancestors are cut short when she's recruited to help reunite a star-crossed, magical couple.

Yule is set during 22 December, or the winter solstice, and the longest night of the year. And when Paige enters an all-night party at a local club, she finds herself at the centre of an evil plot to bring about permanent midnight.

Imbolc centres on the 01 February, a time when the earliest hopes for spring are fostered and seeds are planted for dreams of the coming summer months. But Piper can't look towards the future - an having children with Leo - when her half-whitelighter., half-witch sister's powers are on the fritz. Is a hybrid baby destined for doom?

Laura J Burns and Emma Harrison do a fantastic job of telling these three mini tales - although I could have done without the poor chants in Samhain. There might only be a few of them, but they are a little annoying. An example of which is:

Halliwell witches, hear us three.
Into your world now let us see.
On Samhain the veil is thin.
Pull it back and let us in.

Ignoring that slight complaint, as a collection of very short stories, volume one of Seasons of the Witch works its charm.

Amber Leigh

Buy this item online
We compare prices online so you get the cheapest deal! Click on the logo of the desired store below to purchase this item.

£4.79 (Amazon.co.uk)
£4.61 (Limebooks.co.uk)
£4.61 (Studentbookworld.com)

All prices correct at time of going to press.