Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Original Comic Book Soundtrack


Artists: various
Label: Lakeshore Records
Release Date: 18 September 2015

Lakeshore Records release the various artists companion album for the comic book series Wednesday. Wednesday tells the story of a young girl named “Wednesday” who is dissatisfied with her life hiding under a scrap yard. On the eve of her sixteenth birthday, Wednesday’s father is kidnapped by bounty hunters. To save him, Wednesday ventures into the unknown with her only friends; sock monkeys Manny, Moe and Jack. Armed with only her wits and driving a 1970 Plymouth Barracuda, Wednesday must overcome bandits, killer robots and a deadly assassin from the past...

The soundtracks for Wednesday represent an interesting experiment. Two albums have been released to capture the essence of the story and provide further atmosphere to the comic book series. Personally, I think it's an impressive undertaking that adds another layer to the immersive experience of reading the comics, and both this various artists soundtrack and the score really show the attention to detail that the project's creators have gone to for their fans.

The album opens with the previously released single 'K So'. probably the oddest choice from this album for a single release, as it's easily one of the weaker tracks on offer. The album contains 13 tracks (44 min, 08 sec) with personal favourite tracks including 'Hunt You Down' (Geno Lenardo feat. Nina Bergman) and a cover of Heart's 'Barracuda' (Geno Lenardo feat. Mlny).

There's a definite '80s vibe running through this album. It's an enjoyable soundtrack, but I have to admit that, on balance, I found the score slightly more rewarding.

Track listing:

01 - '‘K So' - Daniel Davies
02 - 'Feels So Good' - Geno Lenardo feat. Aly Jados
03 - 'Lost In A Love' - Daniel Davies
04 - 'Desert Ride' - KYBD
05 - 'Somewhere Better Than Here' - Geno Lenardo feat. Nina Bergman
06 - 'Barracuda' - Geno Lenardo feat. Mlny
07 - 'Endless World' - Daniel Davies
08 - 'One Day' - Geno Lenardo feat. Aly Jados
09 - 'Teenage Mechanics' - John Bergin feat. KYBD
10 - 'That’s The Kick' - Daniel Davies feat. Tessa De Nicola
11 - 'Hunt You Down' - Geno Lenardo feat. Nina Bergman
12 - 'Killer Sock Monkeys' - John Bergin feat. Dustin Blegstad
13 - 'Tricky Driver' - Daniel Davies


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album