Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Black Mirror: San Junipero


Composer: Clint Mansell
Label: Lakeshore Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 02 December 2016

Lakeshore Records release Clint Mansell's score for San Junipero, the fourth episode from the third series of Black Mirror. The British television anthology series focuses on speculative fiction with dark and satirical themes that examine the unanticipated consequences of new technologies...

Clint Mansell turns in a slightly above average score for the San Junipero episode of Black Mirror. Like the previously released music from Men Against Fire, this release really stretches, to breaking point, the idea of a full album for a single episode of a TV series. It really would have been a more enjoyable album if highlights from the show's third series had been released, rather than an entire LP dedicated to an episode.

There are moments to savour - 'In Sickness, In Health' and 'Life Eternal' being two of the highlights - over the course of this album's 10 tracks (32 min, 42 sec), but it's not an album that stands up well on its own merits.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album