Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Music from the Transformers Movies


Composer: Steve Jablonsky
Performed by: London Music Works
Label: Silva Screen Records
Release Date: 29 June 2018

Silva Screen Records release Music from the Transformers Movies performed by London Music Works. This is an extended, follow up album to their 2011 Music From The Transformers Trilogy...

If you already own Silva Screen's 2011 release Music from the Transformers Trilogy, this new collection give you exactly the same tracks, but with six additional pieces (29 min, 09 sec) from Age of Extinction and The Last Knight. So, in total, this new album contains 23 tracks (1 hr, 30 min, 59 sec). So, forgive me if I reuse quite a lot of my review from the previous release.

Steve Jablonsky’s long association with Transformers director Michael Bay began in the 1990s, creating additional music for Armageddon, Pearl Harbor and Bad Boys II, and forming a close link with prolific composer Hans Zimmer. His career spans film, TV and video games and includes the remakes of The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, The Amityville Horror and Friday The 13th.

I've been a fan of Jablonsky's since I saw the movie Steamboy, and while I did enjoy the music he composed for the Transformers movies, I couldn't help feeling that it all sounded a little too much like a Zimmer score - in fact there are segments that sound like they are paying homage to Zimmer's work on Gladiator. Nowhere is this more obvious than in the track 'Infinite White' which is taken from Transformers: Revenge Of The Fallen. There are also elements of Lorne Balfe's score for the game Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 (again, Balfe worked under Zimmer early in his career) in tracks like 'Optimus vs Megatron'.

London Music Works do a magnificent job of reproducing Jablonsky's original music. In fact, if you don't own the originals, you'll be hard pressed to distinguish this from the original soundtrack recordings.

There are some powerful and beautiful themes here. If you don't already own the original scores, this is a wonderful way of being introduced to Jablonsky's music. You're bound to want to buy the originals once you've heard what's on offer.

01. Autobots (From Transformers)
02. The All Spark (From Transformers)
03. Optimus (From Transformers)
04. Bumblebee (From Transformers)
05. Arrival To Earth (From Transformers)
06. Optimus vs. Megatron (From Transformers)
07. Nest (From Transformers: Revenge Of The Fallen)
08. Infinite White (From Transformers: Revenge Of The Fallen)
09. Tomb Of The Primes (From Transformers: Revenge Of The Fallen)
10. Forest Battle (From Transformers: Revenge Of The Fallen)
11. Matrix Of Leadership (From Transformers: Revenge Of The Fallen)
12. Prime / I Rise You Fall (From Transformers: Revenge Of The Fallen)
13. Dark Side of the Moon (From Transformers: Dark of the Moon)
14. Sentinel Prime (From Transformers: Dark of the Moon)
15. It's Our Fight (From Transformers: Dark of the Moon)
16. Our Final Hope (From Transformers: Dark of the Moon)
17. Trailer Music - Prelude (From Transformers: Dark of the Moon)
18. Tessa (From Transformers: Age of Extinction)
19. Autobots Reunite (From Transformers: Age of Extinction)
20. Lockdown (From Transformers: Age of Extinction)
21. Sacrifice (From Transformers: The Last Knight)
22. We Have to Go (From Transformers: The Last Knight)
23. Calling All Autobots (From Transformers: The Last Knight)


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album