Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Original Television Soundtrack
Season 1


Composer: Blake Neely
Label: La-La-Land Records in conjunction with WaterTower Music
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 11 October 2016

La-La-Land Records in conjunction with WaterTower Music, release Blake Neely's score for the first season of Supergirl.

Blake Neely has pulled out some impressive scores in the past (Arrow: Season 1; Arrow: Season 2; Arrow: Season 3; The Flash: Season 1), but I'd argue that the sheer volume of intricate and beautiful themes present in Supergirl easily make this one of his more interesting.

Being a superhero universe series, it's no surprise to learn there are a lot of powerful, chest beating themes. But these are a little more subtle, a little more deep, than the standard Superman style themes that are normally too loud and too in your face.

The album contains 29 tracks (1 hr, 18 min, 30 sec) and doesn't let up for a second. This is an album that has quality stamped over it from the opening titles to the closing track.

There are also many quieter, beautiful reflective pieces ('Gift From Clark / Stronger Together' being one of the finer moments).

Not only will fans of the show get a huge blast from this, but so will soundtrack fans who grew up on John Williams's lush, intricate scores.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
Digital album